Welcome!

Sometimes only a small beam of light is missing
for a great moment...

Portfolio

Here you will find a short overview of my work. For more information just click on the picture.

Abstract Acrylic Painting, 2020. cubes in warm tones come from a left vanishing point to in front of the viewer, turning right-angled and then fading away in the distance in a second vanishing point. On the floor, a yellow band marks the path of the cubes as a mirror image.

Vanishing Points

abstract scenic 3D art, raytracing, 2018. many cylindrical pillars stand in the darkness in front of the viewer and block the view to a nearby person who is approaching the viewer with a strong spotlight.

At night

abstract acrylic painting, stencil technique, design as charcoal drawing, 2017; a dominating sky of pale white rectangular clouds hovers over brown ground reduced to a triangle.

Sky and ground

Abstract acrylic painting, design in 3D construction software, finished in stencil technique, 2013. skyscrapers stand in a row on the bank of a river and are reflected in it. The water has waves that break the reflection. All picture elements are abstracted by rectangles. Only a circular moon in a dark blue sky breaks this rule.

Skyline

Abstract acrylic painting, design in image processing software, execution in free brushstroke. A tree stands on a summer meadow, 2012. 20 x 20 colour pixels from a very limited colour palette generate this representation.

Tree

Abstract scenic 3D art, raytracing, 2020: Three colored (red, green, and blue) laser beams hit a structure of 2197 small white cubes and produce white scattered light.

RGB 2

Abstract scenic 3D art, raytracing, 2020: A golden cube hovers between two mirrors and casts a shadow on the floor. The image of the mirror multiplies infinitely. One of the mirrors is slightly tilted, so that the cube row bends to the left and disappears in the dark.

Between two mirrors

Abstract scenic 3D art, raytracing, 2020: Many cylindrical pillars stand in darkness in front of the viewer and block the view of a large illuminated spot behind them.

At night 2

Abstract acrylic painting, design in 3D construction program, execution in stencil technique, 2018. The view through a row of open doors is linking several rooms in different colors. In some rooms, sunlight enters from the side. The last opening hints at a green garden behind it.

Garden view

Abstract scenic 3D art, raytracing, 2016: A staircase allows escape through a wall in which the word Escape is engraved.

Escape

abstract acrylic painting, design in 3D construction program, execution in stencil technique, 2012. in front of a blue background there is a barcode-like arrangement of stripes in red, green and yellow. Scanning the barcode would give the title of the work.

No Art

Design

Virtual abstract scenery, abstract digital art, raytracing, computer-rendered image, 2020. A golden something seems to come out of the darkness of a tunnel onto the viewer at high speed.

Speed

Abstract scenic 3D art, raytracing, 2019. 10 x 10 x 10 cubes floating in empty space with red, green and blue sides, shown from an extreme camera perspective standing in the middle of the arrangement

1000 cubes

Abstract acrylic painting, 2017 at first free design of three colour surfaces, later transfer of the picture into 3D construction and finally painted over in stencil technique, 2018. Viewer stands on red ground in the desert and sees the cool blue sky in the far distance. The way there is marked by a row of black posts in a curve.

Desert

Abstract scenic 3D art, raytracing. Thin vertical sheets of paper hang in a room with their edges facing the viewer, 2016. All sheets are colored red on the left side and blue on the right side. The sheets are arranged in 9 cubes from closely packed stacks, always leaving some air between the sheets. The perspective gives the impression of partly cube-shaped, partly curved forms.

Shape

Abstract acrylic painting, design in 3D construction software, execution in stencil technique, 2012. Three coloured stripes are located on the walls of a tunnel which ends in a light grey square. The stripes in red, green and blue are irregularly interrupted to indicate a code.

RGB

About me

How do I, as a physicist, come to produce art?

After a thorough talent test, I already knew as a teenager that I should become either a physicist or a designer. I decided to become a scientist and to continue to practice my creative-artistic side in my spare time. My love of craftsmanship with various materials helped me to design several lamps and pieces of furniture over the years. I prefer a very cool, understated, Bauhaus-like style. When designing, I was able to make full use of the more in-depth knowledge of materials I had gained during my physics studies.

In my job it is important to me to understand a product or a manufacturing process in its entirety. The mathematical modelling of real things, which is common in physics, helps me to do this. Over the last years I have successfully specialized in the development of sensors for motor vehicles. The optics used in such products are calculated with 3D light beam tracking programs (ray tracing). For the design of furniture and other objects in my hobby I have not used paper for years, but 3D design software.

Since my wife is also an art lover, we visited many exhibitions together. I discovered my passion for abstract art with a focus on very reduced representations of a three-dimensional detail, e.g. a corner of a room. With this discovery the loop to the artist was closed for me.

How do I work?

I start my designs with a three-dimensional inner image. This emerges, for example, when discovering a special shape, such as the corner of a house during a walk. But it can also be the impression of a nightly crime scene with fog. I try to imagine what minimal setting is needed to achieve an effect similar to that experienced. I like to reduce the details a bit more to challenge the viewer in his interpretation. I make the design in the 3D construction program. Then follows the setup of the lighting (like in a photo studio), and the coating of the object surfaces with a material. After calculating the image in the raytracing program, several correction loops (object, material, light) are made until an optimal image is created.

It is important to me to have full control over the result throughout the whole process. It is all the more surprising to me that some pictures are perceived completely differently by the viewer than I thought...

If control is so important, why do I paint at all?

The luminosity of the acrylic colours is superior to photo and digital prints. The colour space ( limitations of displayable colours) is also larger. There are also more modelling options. A photo is always flat, while a brush stroke has a three-dimensional texture, depending on the type. All these characteristics make painting highly attractive for me. But do I really want to leave a painting result to chance?

In 2012 I started to intensively deal with the basics of painting in my spare time. Of this, I spent two years studying the basics of colour pigment mixing and finally developed a computer software for it. Another two years passed with the self-study of pictorial effects. The first pictures were created as a manual exercise. After I could not get used to the uncontrolled application of paint by a brush, the next pictures were created in mask technique with opaque paint, partly again from computer sketches. I was satisfied with that. In painting courses I had the courage to cover the perfect colour surfaces with transparent (only partially controllable!) colours.

In the future I will risk further painting experiments with less control....

It would be nice to see you again. I would be even more pleased to receive criticism - be it positive or negative. You are welcome by email.

Willkommen!

Manchmal fehlt nur ein kleiner Lichtstrahl
zu einem starkem Moment...

Portfolio

Hier finden Sie eine kurze Werkübersicht. Für mehr Informationen klicken Sie einfach auf das Bild.

Abstrakte szenische 3D-Kunst, Raytracing, 2020. Drei farbige (rot, grün, und blau) Laserstrahlen treffen auf ein Gebilde aus 2197 kleinen weißen Würfeln und erzeugen weißes Streulicht.

RGB 2

Abstrakte szenische 3D-Kunst, Raytracing, 2020. Ein goldener Würfel schwebt zwischen zwei Spiegeln und wirft einen Schatten auf dem Boden. Das Bild des Spiegels vervielfältigt sich ins Unendliche. Einer der Spiegel ist leicht verkippt, so dass die Würfelreihe in einer Kurve nach links wegläuft und im Dunkel verschwindet.

Zwischen zwei Spiegeln

Abstrakte szenische 3D-Kunst, Raytracing, 2018. Viele zylindrische Säulen stehen in der Dunkelheit vor dem Betrachter und versperren die Sicht auf eine nahe Person, die mit einem starken Scheinwerfer auf den Betrachter zukommt.

Nachts

Abstrakte Acrylmalerei, Schablonentechnik, Entwurf als Kohlezeichnung, 2017. Ein dominierender Himmel aus zartweißen rechteckigen, flächigen Wolken schwebt über einer auf ein dreieck reduzierten, braunen Erde.

Himmel und Erde

Abstrakte Acrylmalerei, Entwurf im 3D-Konstruktionsprogramm, Ausführung in Schablonentechnik, 2013. Hochhäuser stehen in einer Reihe am Ufer eines Gewässers und spiegeln sich darin. Das Gewässer hat Wellen, welche die Spiegelung durchbrechen. Alle Bildelemente werden durch Rechtecke abstrahiert. Nur ein kreisrunder Mond am dunkelblauen Himmel durchbricht diese Regel.

Skyline

Abstrakte Acrylmalerei, Entwurf im Bildbearbeitungsprogramm, Ausführung in freier Pinselführung. Ein Baum steht auf einer Sommerwiese, 2012. 20 x 20 Farbpixel aus einer sehr reduzierten Farbpalette erzeugen diese Darstellung.

Baum

Abstrakte szenische 3D-Kunst, Raytracing, 2020. Viele zylindrische Säulen stehen in der Dunkelheit vor dem Betrachter und versperren die Sicht auf eine großflächig beleuchtete Stelle dahinter.

Nachts 2

Abstrakte Acrylmalerei, Entwurf im 3D-Konstruktionsprogramm, Ausführung in Schablonentechnik, 2018. Blick durch eine Reihe von offenen Türen, die mehrere Räume in verschiedenen Farben miteinander verbinden. Bei einigen Räumen fällt Sonnenlicht von der Seite ein. Die letzte Öffnung deutet eine grünen Garten dahinter an.

Gartenblick

Abstrakte szenische 3D-Kunst, Raytracing, 2016. Eine Treppe erlaubt das Entkommen durch eine Wand, in der das Wort Escape eingestanzt ist.

Entkommen

Abstrakte Acrylmalerei, Entwurf im 3D-Konstruktionsprogramm, Ausführung in Schablonentechnik, 2012. Vor einem blauen Hintergrund befinden sich eine barcode-ähnliche Anordnung aus Streifen in den Farben rot, grün und gelb. Scannen des Barcodes ergäbe den Titel des Werks.

No Art

Design

Abstrakte szenische 3D-Kunst, Raytracing, 2019. 10 x 10 x 10 im leeren Raum schwebende Würfel mit roten, grünen und blauen Seiten, gezeigt aus einer extremem Kamera-Perspektive, die mitten in der Anordnung steht

1000 Würfel

Abstrakte Acrylmalerei, 2017 zunächst freie Gestaltung dreier Farbflächen, später Übernahme des Bilds in 3D-Konstruktion und schließlich übermalt in Schablonentechnik, 2018. Betrachter steht auf rotem Boden in der Wüste und sieht in der Ferne den kühlen blauen Himmel. Der Weg dorthin wird durch eine Reihe schwarzer Pfosten in einer Kurve markiert.

Wüste

Abstrakte szenische 3D-Kunst, Raytracing. In einem Raum hängen senkrecht dünne Blätter mit ihrer Kante ausgerichtet zum Betrachter, 2016. Alle Blätter sind auf der linken Seite rot und auf der rechten Seite blau eingefärbt. Die Blätter sind in 9 Würfeln aus eng gepackten Stapeln angeordnet, wobei immer etwas Luft zwischen den Blättern verbleibt. Durch die Perspektive ergibt sich der Eindruck teilweise würfelförmigen, teilweise gebogenen Gebilden.

Umriss

Abstrakte Acrylmalerei, Entwurf im 3D-Konstruktionsprogramm, Ausführung in Schablonentechnik, 2012. Drei farbige Streifen befinden sich an den Wänden eines Tunnels, der in einem hellgrauen Quadrat mündet. Die Streifen in den Farben rot, grün and blau sind unregelmäßig unterbrochen, um eine Codierung anzudeuten.

RGB

Über mich

Wie komme ich dazu, als Physiker Kunst zu produzieren?

Nach einem eingehenden Begabungstest wusste ich als Jugendlicher schon, dass ich entweder Physiker oder Designer werden sollte. Ich habe mich dazu entschieden, Wissenschaftler zu werden, und meine kreativ-künstlerische Seite in der Freizeit weiterzupflegen. Meine Liebe zum handwerklichen Arbeiten mit verschiedensten Materialien half mir, im Lauf der Jahre etliche Lampen und Möbelstücke zu designen. Ich bevorzuge dabei einen sehr ruhigen, zurückgenommenen, Bauhaus-ähnlichen Stil. Beim Entwurf konnte ich die tiefgehenderen Materialkenntnisse aus dem Physikstudium sehr gut gebrauchen.

Im Beruf ist es mir wichtig, ein Produkt oder einen Herstellungsprozess in seiner Gesamtheit zu verstehen. Dabei hilft mir die aus der Physik übliche mathematische Modellierung realer Dinge. In den letzten Jahren habe ich mich dabei erfolgreich auf die Entwicklung von Sensoren für Kraftfahrzeuge spezialisiert. Die in solchen Produkten verwendeten Optiken werden mit 3D-Lichtstrahlverfolgungsprogrammen (Raytracing) berechnet. Für den Entwurf von Möbeln und anderen Gegenständen im Hobby verwende ich seit Jahren schon kein Papier mehr, sondern 3D-Konstruktionsprogramme.

Da meine Frau auch eine Kunstliebhaberin ist, besuchten wir gemeinsam viele Ausstellungen. Ich entdeckte meine Leidenschaft für abstrakte Kunst mit einem Fokus auf sehr reduzierte Darstellungen eines dreidimensionalen Details, z. B. einer Raumecke. Mit dieser Entdeckung schloss sich für mich der Kreis zum Künstler.

Wie arbeite ich?

Ich beginne meine Entwürfe mit einem räumlichen inneren Bild. Das entsteht zum Beispiel beim Entdecken einer besonderen Form wie z.B. einer Hausecke bei einem Spaziergang. Es kann aber auch der Eindruck einer nächtlichen Krimi-Szene mit Nebel sein. Ich versuche, mir vorzustellen, welche minimale Ausstattung man braucht, um eine ähnliche wie die erlebte Wirkung zu erzielen. Gerne reduziere ich die Details noch ein bisschen mehr, um dem Betrachter in seiner Interpretation herauszufordern. Den Entwurf mache ich im 3D-Konstruktionsprogramm. Dann folgt das Einrichten der Beleuchtung (wie in einem Fotostudio), und die Belegung der Objektoberflächen mit einem Material. Nach der Bildberechnung im Raytracingprogramm folgen dann etliche Korrekturläufe (Gegenstand, Material, Licht), bis ein für mich optimales Bild entsteht.

Mir ist es wichtig, in dem gesamten Prozess die volle Kontrolle über das Ergebnis zu haben. Um so überraschender ist es für mich, dass manche Bilder beim Betrachter völlig anders wahrgenommen werden, als ich es dachte...

Wenn die Kontrolle so wichtig ist, wieso male ich auch?

Die Leuchtkraft der Acrylfarben ist den Foto- und Digitaldrucken überlegen. Der Farbraum (Grenzen darstellbarer Farben) ist ebenfalls größer. Außerdem gibt es weitere Modellierungsmöglichkeiten. Ein Foto ist immer flach, während ein Pinselstrich je nach Ausführung eine dreidimensionale Textur aufweist. All diese Eigenschaften machen die Malerei hochattraktiv für mich. Aber möchte ich ein Bildergebnis wirklich dem Zufall überlassen?

Ich habe 2012 damit begonnen, mich in meiner Freizeit intensiv mit den Grundlagen der Malerei auseinander zu setzen. Davon habe ich mich zwei Jahre mit den Grundlagen der Farbpigmentmischung beschäftigt und schließlich ein Computerprogramm dafür entwickelt. Weitere zwei Jahre vergingen mit dem Selbststudium von Bildwirkung. Erste Bilder entstanden als handwerkliche Übung. Nachdem ich mich mit dem unkontrollierten Farbauftrag durch einen Pinsel nicht anfreunden konnte, entstanden die nächsten Bilder in Schablonentechnik mit deckender Farbe, teilweise wieder aus Computervorentwürfen. Damit war ich zufrieden. In Malkursen traute ich mich, die perfekten Farbflächen mit lasierenden (nur teilweise kontrollierbaren!) Farben zu überziehen.

Ich werde in Zukunft weitere Malexperimente mit weniger Kontrolle wagen....

Freut mich, wenn Sie mal wieder reinschauen. Noch mehr freue ich mich über Kritik - sei sie positiv oder negativ. Gerne per Email.